Tips for Catering to Your Wedding Guests’ Dietary Restrictions

One of the toughest parts of picking out a wedding menu is making sure that guests with allergies or special dietary needs have something to eat! Nowadays, many people have dietary restrictions for health or other reasons, making it necessary to have a few back-ups available to make your menu as accommodating as possible.

Whether you’re catering a wedding or a bar mitzvah here in Philadelphia, keep some of these common dietary boundaries in mind as you plan your upcoming event!


Gluten intolerance is a condition that causes one to react after ingesting gluten, a protein found in barley, wheat, and rye. An estimated 6% of the American population has gluten sensitivity, with 1% even having celiac disease. Those with celiac disease have an autoimmune disorder where the small intestine is damaged by gluten ingestion. Guests with gluten intolerance should avoid products with wheat, barley, and rye.


Those with lactose intolerance are incapable of fully digesting lactose, which is the sugar found in milk products. Although this condition is fairly harmless, it can still be very uncomfortable for some, so make sure to give your lactose intolerant guests dairy-free options.


Peanuts are among the most common allergy-causing foods, and are often found in foods you would never expect. Interestingly, peanuts are actually legumes, although their structure is more similar to those of tree nuts such as walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, and cashews. In some cases, those allergic to peanuts are allergic to tree nuts as well, but keep in mind that this isn’t always the case.   

As you plan your menu, remember to distinguish between peanut allergies and tree nut allergies. 

Vegetarian and Vegan

In the past few years, an increasing number of people have been adopting a vegetarian or vegan diet for environmental, ethical, or health reasons. While vegetarianism is the avoidance of animal meat, veganism goes further to exclude all forms of animal exploitation from clothing, food, and any other purposes. Concerning food, a vegan diet excludes all animal products such as meat, dairy, and eggs. 

Vegetarian and vegan diets have multiple variations, so make sure to ask your guests for the specifics.

With you’re looking to cater a wedding or a bat mitzvah party in Philadelphia, don’t hesitate to get in touch with Catering by Mario’s today at 267-234-7905.